#2015Nigeria: Read Prof. Jega’s epic response to Orubebe this morning


After PDP party agent Godsday Orubebe created an
embarrassing scene at the collation centre in Abuja this
morning, trying to disrupt announcement of results a very calm Jega told him;

“Mr Orubebe, you are a former Minister of the Federal
Republic. You are a statesman in your own right. You
should be careful about what you say or what
allegations or accusations you make. Certainly you
should be careful about your public conduct”
Jega’s response to Orubebe has been hailed as mature and
worthy of praise. In fact, there’s a meaning for Jega now.
‘Jega’ – meaning – ‘To be inexplicably chilled in the midst of
stupidity or conflict”. lol. Prof Jega’s full response below..

    “You have made two comments. One is that you
    submitted a petition which I refused to accept.
    Secondly you claimed that there was a result released
    by the APC which you alleged that we gave to them or I
    gave to them. With regards to the first point, yesterday
    after we took the first batch of results in this hall and
    as we declared a recess until 4pm, as I was walking
    down back to the office, my PA came to me and said
    that here are some papers that Dr Bello Fadile, a
    representative of the PDP said that he should collect it;
    that I said Dr Fadile should give him those papers. I
    told him that I didn’t tell Dr Fadile to give any papers to
    you. Return them to him because Dr Fadile, after we
    declared for recess came on to this platform. As a
    party agent, he is not supposed to do that and gave
    some documents to my PA who is writing results here.
    and I am sure some of the agents and some of the
    pressmen may have seen that and I told my PA to take
    back those documents to him. If he told you I told him
    to give you any documents, I did not. Take them back
    to him, Subsequently, Dr Fadile sent me a text message
    saying that there are petitions and that he wants to
    submit them. I told him we don’t collect petitions on
    the platform when we are declaring results and then
    he said I should have left my office open so that they
    can submit those petitions in my office. I told him our
    secretary, the secretary to the commission is not
    anywhere in this hall. She is in her office and that her
    business is to receive communication. If they are
    important enough, she would bring them to me here. I
    have started collation. I cannot be receiving petition in
    this hall or in this platform. And when I replied that
    text message, he replied again and said Okay, he will
    see what he can do. I interpreted the text as he was
    going to take that petition or whatever document he
    has to the secretary of the commission. As I speak with
    you now, I have not received anything from the
    secretary to the commission. That is regards to the
    issue of the so called petition.
    Regarding results published by APC on its website, I do
    not give results to anybody. The results were
    announced formally as INEC are results declared here.
    And we have warned everybody to be careful and to
    ensure that the do not declare results which we have
    not officially announced. So as far as I am concerned I
    have not seen any results. I have not given anybody
    any results. So for you to even engage me on that issue
    I think frankly that is not fair to me. I have not seen the
    results. How can I speak on something that I have not
    seen. So please let us be careful of what we say or do
    so that we do not disrupt a process that has ended
    peacefully and in a matter of hours we would be able
    to finish it.”. Jega said

Leave a Reply

